Our Canine Without Canines

A little known fact about me is that I have no canines. Maybe that’s why I like dogs. That and the fact that they don’t make me sneeze or have puffy, watery eyes. In an effort to make more room in my mouth, my orthodontist felt that my fangs were not essential teeth. I appreciate the efforts he made, since it means my teeth are behind my lips instead of protruding out like bugs bunny. He’s a lovable character, but just not a good look. A fact I was reminded of by several mean-spirited high school boys on my school bus when I was in kindergarten. If I knew then what I know now, I would have realized that high school boys riding the school bus who chose to pick on a kindergartner with a slight overbite have serious issues. Oh well, you know what they say about hindsight.

Today, our beagle Lucy joined the club of no canines. Well, she still has a couple. We took her in to get her teeth cleaned today, as we figured 7 years was long enough to go without having that done. And we thought it might make her breath a bit less offensive. When I picked her up, I learned that she had about 8 loose teeth. This was a chance these would get infected, so the vet opted to remove them. Most of them are at the back of her mouth. The most noticeable are her lower canines. The vet assured me that this should not hinder her ability to eat. Anyone who knows Lucy knows that she could stand to have her eating ability hindered a bit. As far as the offensive breath, the jury is still out on that one. It could be due to her favorite snack.

Have you noticed that I seem to have a fascination with teeth? Maybe it’s due to the fact that throughout my elementary and junior high school years, I always had some type of orthodontic device. Many a retainer found its way to the cafeteria trash can. Thanks mom and dad for helping me retrieve it all those times.

It’s been one of those days. Honestly, it’s been one of those weeks. For the first time in over a week, we stayed home tonight. It’s a good thing we had no plans this evening, because I find it difficult to walk today as I tried to relive my glory days as a track star (not!) by hurdling over the baby gate into the nursery classroom at church. It’s taller than most gates, and I’ve gone over it many times over the last three years (even when 9 months pregnant!). It’s not the first time the wretched gate has taken me down, but I figured the odds were in my favor today. Little did I know that it wasn’t securely fastened in the doorway. My foot caught it just right and down I went. I frightened the already hysterical 1 year old that was standing close by. I can sure feel the effects of it now and have a lovely bruise just below my right knee. I guess I won’t be wearing short skirts for a bit!

It’s unfortunate clothes don’t come out the dryer folded and ready to be put away. I don’t mind doing the laundry so much, but folding is a process I just don’t enjoy. So, piled on the loveseat and couch are two huge piles of clean clothes. Poor Scott has had to move to the floor to do his work. I guess if I really felt sorry for him, I’d do something about it. Instead I am sitting here in the recliner typing this entry.

Now you know — I am an inconsiderate klutzy slob who was that kid that always had some type of orthodontic contraption in my mouth.

One thought on “Our Canine Without Canines

Leave a Reply

