Laws of Parenting

Being one of the first of my friends to have children, I often get asked advice on child rearing. I tell them two things I would have liked to have been told (though I probably wound not have listened) when I was pregnant with my first child. First and foremost, I tell them to relax and trust their instincts. It’s very unlikely that any permanent damage will come from allowing a baby to cry for over 30 seconds. Second, get used to the idea that you will never be on time to anything ever again. At least not while the child is young. My wealth of experience only goes 5 years, so I am not sure when and if this trend will be reversed.

And that brings me to this morning. I work as a nursery coordinator for our church’s ESL ministry two mornings a week from 8:45-10:45. On Thursdays, I stop by the University to pick up one of the nursery workers. In order to get to the University by 8:40 and then to the church by 8:45, I have to leave the house at 8:30. This morning, the bags were packed and we were done with breakfast by 8:20. Somehow I had 10 minutes to do what I pleased. So, I put the baby on the floor with some toys and told the two year old he could play for a few minutes while I did a little reading on the computer. All the while, I was keeping a close eye on the atomic clock. At the precise moment that it read 8:30, I loaded the boys into the van. I start the van and start pulling out of the driveway. Then, I notice that the clock in the van said 8:40. Hmmm…. it’ll be difficult for me to be at the University by 8:40 if that is when I am leaving my house. Did it really take me 10 minutes to get the boys loaded up?

It turned out okay. Tardiness has come to be expected when I have a child in tow. Luckily, the traffic lights were on my side this morning!

3 thoughts on “Laws of Parenting

  1. Oh the wonders of being able to blame things on your children. Its why Mother’s cry when their babies leave home. No more built in ‘excuses’. *you didn’t really think it was because we MISS them, no did you)

Leave a Reply

