A Silver Lining

After all the complaining I did yesterday, I thought a happy post was in order today. A wonderful thing has happened this week. I have been able to enjoy naptime. Let me give you a little background. It’s not always real easy to get Timothy to actually take a nap. He is still at the age where he needs to sleep a bit in the afternoon or he will just be a bear in the evening. I’ve tried everything to get him to sleep. I’ve laid down with him for hours. I held his eyes closed. I’ve held him down. I’ve sat in the room and told him to go to sleep everytime he moves. I’ve played soft music. I’ve rocked him and then put him in bed. I’ve had Emily “rest” in the other room so her moving around in bed wouldn’t wake him. The result of all this has been me getting stressed out and upset with him about it. And, since he didn’t nap, we had to deal with a grumpy bear in the evening. This is something we’ve been “dealing” with since he started walking.

Oh yes. This was supposed to be a positive post. Sorry. I don’t know if it’s because he’s been under the weather, because it’s been a little cool out, or because of the cold medicine he’s on, but I haven’t had to use any of the “tactics” to get him to sleep this week. I am playing the soft music still to help drown out any noise Emily may make since she gets up fairly often to see if she can get up yet (that’s a whole ‘nother issue to be dealt with). I tuck him into his bed, give him a kiss, and tell him to go to sleep. Then, I leave the room. When I check on them 10-15 minutes later, he’s asleep! He usually only sleeps an hour to an hour and a half, but that’s okay. At least there’s no more struggle to actually get him to go to sleep. I’m actually able to get something done!

Speaking of which — it’s time to move the clothes to the dryer!
🙂

One thought on “A Silver Lining

Leave a Reply

