Things That Make Me Happy

It is often easy to think of things that bum you out. These blogs become a place to vent all our frustration. I know I’ve done it. Today, I’ve got happy thoughts running through my mind and I want to document them.

1. I’ve lost almost 9 pounds in 11 days. Scott and I have been doing weight watchers since the Monday after Thankgiving, and it’s going great. We’ve set reasonable goals with Christmas in mind, and are both really sticking with it.

2. I have not had to change a Timothy diaper / pullup in a week. We started really working on the potty training thing the Monday after Thanksgiving and he’s doing great. At home, he wears big boy underwear and he’s had three accident-free days. The last couple days I haven’t even had to remind him when it’s “potty time.” When we go out or when it’s sleep time, he’s wearing pullups and is keeping them clean / dry too! I think it may be time to venture out in big boy pants!

3. Zachary is such a happy little boy. He has his moments of sadness, but is generally very happy. For example, he is currently standing over by the coffee table and throwing the stuffed Santa Claus dolls on the floor. He looked over at me, saw me watching him, said “Uh ah Oh,” and grinned in delight.

4. Emily is growing into such a smart, beautiful, funny, and sweet little girl. Last night during bedtime prayers, she prayed that all the people who don’t have very much stuff will get more stuff. She loves her brothers dearly and is so much help. She’s really done a great job helping me keep the house tidy so we don’t have much work to do for the birthday party.

5. I am married to a wonderful man who has enough confidence in himself to try to fix something before calling the repairman. Yesterday, he replaced a washer in a leaky faucet. Unfortunately, the washer we got at Wal-Mart is not quite the same as the one in the faucet before so it’s still leaking very slowly. Yet, he’s not giving up. He’s going to find the right washer and get it done. He works so hard at work and at home. He’s taken the kitchen cleaning on as his responsibility, and he’s doing so great. It is so much easier to prepare meals at home when the kitchen is clean.

6. My children have a wonderful group of grandparents, great-grandparents, great-aunts & uncles, aunts & uncles, cousins, 2nd cousins …. This is a great family to be part of!

7. We are members of a wonderful church and a fantastic Sunday School class. We have made some wonderful friends that can always make me smile.

8. The house is clean. The only thing we’ll need to do to be ready for the party tomorrow is get the HUGE pile of laundry put away, clean the hall bathroom, and run the vacuum. It’s so nice to be able to walk through the house without tripping over toys, dirty clothes, sippy cups, and trash…

9. Though it’s kind of yucky, I am so happy to keep finding dead mice. Plainview, especially our neighborhood, has had a pretty major mouse problem this year. We figure we’ve caught 20 since May. We finally put some poison in some discreet places away from curious fingers and it seems to be working.

What makes you happy?

๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Things That Make Me Happy

  1. I like watching my kids learn. I love having a conversation with my kids. I am happy when my wife and I laugh together. I love my job, math and teaching.

    These are the things that make me happy.

  2. That was cool! I’m way bad about griping, so it is refreshing to hear postive things…I need to do something like this on my blog, but until then…

    I’m so happy that God puts up with me and all my shortcomings.

    I’m so lucky to have a husband who always steps up to bat and is involved with our precious daughter, our cats, the house, and puts up with me and my neuroses!!!!

    I am so thankful for my best friends. God has blessed me in this way so many times-I don’t deserve it. He gave me Jill Carpenter in the third grade. He gave me Jonathan in College. He gave me Jill Ingebritson and Shalin in Hobbs. He gave me Sara my second year of teaching here. AND last but not least he has brought Lori into my life. I am so lucky that all these people are a part of my life still and will probably be for the remainder of our lives. I can let these people see me for who I really am and they haven’t run away yet…. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I don’t discredit friends….I’ve also got a lot of those in my life as well. People at church, Sandra who helped us raise our daughter, my coworkers…Misti, Destina, Marisa, Cheryl, Melinda, Julie, Gretchen, and Lori Brown.

    Family. We’ve been so blessed-but don’t ever tell them-to have Rachel and Randy and Katie in our lives.

    I’m so excited that my daughter has wonderful friends like Emily to play with. It has been so much fun watching them grow up together.

    I could go on, but I do have my own blog space I can use instead of using up yours!!! Hee Hee!!

Leave a Reply

