Mother’s Day Out

Today is Timothy’s first day of Mother’s Day Out. He is attending the Garland Street Church of Christ Three Bears Academy on Thursdays from 9-3. He was so anxious to go to school this morning that we actually arrived about 5 minutes early. I tried to get him to wait a bit longer, but he wanted no part of that. I know he is going to have a great day. There are three other kids from his Sunday School class there, which should make it real easy for him to get over any initial shyness he may have.

I’ve been asked what I am going to do with my spare time while Timothy is gone. Well, I will still have Zachary to keep me busy and Emily will be home at 11:30, so it’s not a complete day out for me. But, it will be a day where I don’t have to ask someone to go to the bathroom every 10 minutes or that I have to fight someone to sleep in the afternoon. I am excited about the one-on-one time with Zachary. I know Zachary is excited that he won’t get sat on, pushed around, … for a few hours. He’ll probably kind of miss it a bit too! He seems pretty happy right now.

Today, my plan is to get all Zachary’s things moved into Timothy’s room and all of Emily’s things moved in Zachary’s room. We’ve decided it’s time for Emily to have her own room, so the boys are going to be sharing the larger of the two bedrooms. It’s going to be quite a transition for everyone, but we think it’ll be good. Emily’s excited about having a girl room all to herself. She plans to decorate with princess stuff. Timothy is getting around to the idea that Zachary will be in his room. I promised him car decorations and a bunk bed one day (probably his third birthday).

Starting next week I will be working at our church on Tuesday and Thursday mornings. Since I start back to work next week, I am hoping to make the most of my time this week to get their rooms switched around. I’ve been doing a little each day, and hopefully Scott will help me move the furniture this evening.

I suppose I should get going on my plans. Zachary is happily playing with books right now, and Timothy and Emily are both gone to school. Timothy didn’t even blink twice when I left him this morning. Really, a few tears would have been nice for mama. Silly, I know. I hope he has a great day!

🙂

4 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Out

  1. How exciting-moving the boys in together. This starts a whole new chapter in their lives. And Emily gets her own girl room! I’m excited for all of you. Have fun.

  2. Gee, I was 16 before I got MY own roon! Lucky Emily.
    And just think, now Timothy can push Zach around day AND night!
    Sounds like a lot of exciting chanes in the Frankllin household.

Leave a Reply

