Another Blog?

I’ve decided that I would like to have a separate place to write about my family life.  I don’t think a day goes by that I don’t interact with my kids and think, “Hey, this would be great for Lori to blog about.”  She has her site:  Bein’ Franklin.  I’ve even used it on occasion to post family tidbits, but it just seems to be more of a mommy site and I’ve recently stumbled across some Dad Blogs that have inspired me:

  1. DaddySpeak
  2. DadBloggers
  3. A Family Runs Through it
  4. Because I’m Your Father

The title of this blog is inspired by a common maxim I tell folks when they ask me what its like to have three kids.  I tell them that its a challenge to move from two kids to three since your moving from a man to man defense to a zone.  I can’t take credit for that, since I heard at a discipleship seminar (on parenting) at our church.

I have aspirations of posting personal things here such as the wonderful things my kids have taught, the unbelievable challenges the parenting imposes, and other odds and ends related to being a husband and father.

To begin with let me just say, my oldest boy, Timothy, is just about the funniest fella I’ve had the privelege of meeting.  Now, he can certainly be ornery, but sometimes, he’s just hilarious.  Last night, we were talking and I asked him to show me his foot, which he had injured earlier this week.  He laid down and stuck it in my face.  I asked if it hurt and he said, “Yes”  with an expression of matter of factness. He opens his eyes real wide and puts his chin against his neck.  It’s a look that just dares you to disagree.  I thought I’d take this conversation further and asked him to show me is ear and if it hurt.  He showed and said, “Yes.”  By this time it was clear we had a game going.  I moved on, covering his legs, his nose, then his eyes.  I added a new one with the eyes, though.  I asked him, “Did someone poke you?”
“Yes,” he says.
“Who?” I asked.
“Mommy.”
“Mommy poked you”
“No, Daddy did it”
“I didn’t poke you!”, I said.
“Emily?”, he’s searching.

I don’t know why but that put it over the top and I couldn’t stop laughing.  I laughed for about 15 minutes after that.  Maybe it was the facial expression or just the creation of a new routine, but I sure like that kid.

3 thoughts on “Another Blog?

Leave a Reply

