She’s only five

I am having a bit of regret, remorse, ill feelings, whatever you might call it. My daughter is only five year’s old and I think that we’ve let her pile too many things into her schedule. She’s my oldest, so I don’t know if this is unusual. There are four nights in a row where she has commitments, plus one on Saturday morning.
Sunday Night: Mission Friends at Church
Monday Night: Ballet and tap dance
Tuesday Night: Upward Cheerleading practice at Church
Wednesday Night: Children’s Choir
Saturday Morning: Cheerleading for basketball games at Church

That just seems like an awful lot for a little girl. We followed the example of an other couple of families at church and I just feel overwhelmed for her. She has gratefully accepted all of these opportunities. She even has some idea of the financial pressures it puts us under. To be honest, I wish she didn’t but the recent news of $150 for two outfits for the ballet and dance recital caught us off guard, possibly to the point of needing to pull her out. I think we’re learning as we go, but next year, things are going to tone down a bit, as she will be forced to choose between tumbling, tap and ballet, and cheerleading.

With all my complaining, I am still warmed by her smile when she’s having fun:

“So,” you may ask, “what do the boys do while she’s busy at all things things?”

They have a blast!

5 thoughts on “She’s only five

  1. Pingback: Bein’ Franklin » Stirring Up Dust Bunnies

  2. I’m with you on the $150 thing, and we are fortunate enough to have grandparents who insist on paying. But that doesn’t change the fact that I threw a wall-eyed hissy fit when I found out how much it was going to cost. Absolutely ridiculous!

Leave a Reply

