Shrek the Third

shrek3 As I have mentioned on a number of occasions, we are frequent visitors to the drive-in here in Lubbock.  I mentioned in a previous post that there was a movie we really liked.  It’s about time I get back to it.  Before we watched the Pirate’s third edition, we also watched the third edition of the Shrek movies. 

First, let me tell you that there are a few things that annoy me about the Shrek movies.  I’ll get these out of the way because they irritate but I still keep coming back to watch them.  First, the donkey just bugs me! Somehow, over the last decade or so, I have lost all my appreciation for Eddie Murphy.  That’s saying a lot because I used to be a huge fan of his.  I mean, you can’t beat some of the sketches from SNL (Buckwheat sings the classics, Mr. Robinson’s neighborhood).  I must have watched a slate of his movies about a hundred times all together (The Golden Child, Beverly Hills Cop 1 and 2, Trading Places, 48 Hours). But more recently he’s come out with some that find themselves at the bottom of any of my movie lists: Nutty Professor, Daddy Day Care, Dr. Dolittle, and whatever that movie was with Steve Martin, “something finger?”, I can’t even remember.  Now, to be honest, Dr. Dolittle was okay but the Chris Rock guinea pig ruined it for me.  Back to the donkey, I just don’t get him.  Apparently he annoys me as much as he is supposed to annoy Shrek.  And yet, there is enough in the movie to overcome that.

The second thing that annoys me is the line, “Better out than in, I always say.”  I guess it’s the catch phrase for this series but it really wasn’t funny the first time and now I’m just tired of hearing it.

Now that I’m done complaining, I’ll say that I really liked the movie.  It was easily as good as the other two.  They brought enough new material to it that made it seem fresh and funny.  The short sequence where the life of the Gingerbread Man flashes before his eyes had me rolling on the floor.  There were literally tears in my eyes by the time he was singing, “The good ship lollipop”.

I very happy that even though Prince Charming is the chief villain, they chose not to bring back the fairy godmother from the last movie.  I don’t know why, but if they had it would have truly bugged me.  The result was a creative and new plot.

They brought in a number of new voice talents for this rendition, including Eric Idle (of Monty Python fame), Justin Timberlake (who as a voice talent is okay but as a singer I can’t stand to listen to), Amy Sedaris (who I remember best as the cat lady from Earl but also as the character in “Just Shoot Me’ from whom Finch, played by David Spade, got all his personality) and Cheri Oteri (who doesn’t come across nearly as funny and crazy when you can’t see her eyes). I still have to go back to Puss in Boots as my easy favorite. I can’t put my finger on it, but Antonio Banderas just gets me tickled in the way he plays the cat.

Overall, I’d give it a 3.5 out of five stars but still a recommended family film.

Leave a Reply

