Reading with Emily

hankFace Last night, Emily and I started reading the first book in the Hank the Cowdog series.  It was one of my favorite series as a kid, and I was surprised (I don’t know why) to see that the series lives on to this day.  There are dozens in the series now.  I have no idea how many but the word that comes to mind is boocoos. Was that a real word or just one of those family words form my childhood? Well, I saw a ton of them at the library when we were there the other night. 

At any rate, I remembered as a kid when John Erickson came to my elementary school back in Canadian, TX.  I had read a few of his Hank the Cowdog books by the time he came so it was a pretty big deal to me.  Even bigger was the day they showed a cartoon version of the first book on my Saturday morning cartoons.  I realized that I had met my first celebrity.

Reading with Emily is always blast, but I had particular fun last night.  As I started to read, I recalled that the entire story is told in first person from the point of view of Hank, head of Ranch Security.  I, obviously, had to add a thick southern drawl to the reading.  I read the first chapter and then it was Emily’s turn.  Of course, she had to read it the same way.  It was absolutely adorable listening to her try to mimic the voices I had used as I was reading the parts of various characters.  She’s gonna love drama club some day.

3 thoughts on “Reading with Emily

  1. Scott, check with the library to see if they have tapes or CDs of any episodes of “Hank the Cowdog”. Once upon a time, long ago, you and Ginger listened to tapes of Hank most of the way to Michigan. Do you remember that?

  2. I remember it VERY well. That was a very fun trip and I was thinking about it when I remembered all the Hank books I read. I think I read more books on that trip than I’ve read in a single week since.

Leave a Reply

