Bridge to Terabithia

We rented three movies the other night and I managed to end up only watching one. I guess I actually watched the very end of another one, one that you probably shouldn’t watch the end before the beginning. We rented Rocky Balboa, Premonition and Bridge to Terabithia. The one I watched was Bridge to Terabithia, the one I know the ending to is Premonition (and I won’t spoil it for you here) and the one we never got around to watching was Rocky Balboa. It’s really a shame because I really wanted to watch it. There is just not enough time for a new job, new house, three kids, a lovely wife and watching movies. Something has to give and so far it has not been the job or the family.

I know a few people who read “Bridge to Terabithia” as a kid. When the movie came out they were all excited, although they warned me that it has a sad ending and I should be prepared for that when I watch it. I want to be careful not to give away the ending, but they were right. It was heart wrenching but also inspiring, reminding me to cherish my children and their imagination. I recalled with great fondness those games I played when I was kid, all alone in my backyard, battling the monsters or the ninjas or the terrorists with my various imaginary weapons, from tree branches to golf clubs to baseball bats.

I particularly like the presentation of several characters in the movie/book. What a person appears to be on the outside, even if that is how they choose to be portrayed, is not always who they really are. There is almost always more to a person than we typically given them credit for, a history of life that has made them who they are. Many of those events that shape them are of their own choosing but many may not be. That doesn’t mean we blame others for our shortcomings, but we realize that everyone has their own battles. With that in mind, we should be gracious and compassionate to one other. That just happens to be one of the things I was reminded of in watching this movie.

For an adult, watching a children’s movie, it wasn’t half bad. I’d give it 4 out of 5 stars and definitely recommend it, especially if you can still remember what it’s like to be a kid.

Leave a Reply

