More Words

My apologies for the long hiatus. There are a number of things that have happened since the last blog entry on this site and without trying to cover all of them, I thought I’d start small and just give a couple of phrases that have become very common around our house thanks to the youngest member of our family.

 
 

  • “What?” – Sure, it seems like this is a common question everywhere. Maybe in a more polite and mannerly house we would say, “Pardon me?” Zachary has taught us to ask this question quite often and in a way that is very hard to describe in words on a blog. Say it very quickly, very inquisitively, with almost an unbelief at what you just heard.
    Ex: It’s time to go to bed. Zachary’s response: “What?” Translation: I don’t think you really meant what you said.
    Ex: Do you want some candy? Zachary’s response: “What?” Translation: Really, right now, that’s wonderful, thank you so much.
    Ex: Play outside with your brother. Zachary’s response: “What?” Translation: Don’t you know there are small flying insects out there and I am terrified of them.
    Which leads me to my next word:
  • “Bees?!?!??!!!” – Starting just yesterday, Zachary has become ABSOLUTELY TERRIFIED of flying insects, to the point of screaming uncontrollably as soon as one touches his skin.
  • “I don’t know” – Zachary often argues with you about whether he doesn’t know or you don’t know. It’s quite fun to get him started. Before long it is like one of those old Bugs Bunny cartoons where you can get him to change what he is arguing about by yelling “I know”. Then he starts arguing that he does too. Although, to be honest, his response is generally, “I nose”, even sometimes pointing at his nose.
One thought on “More Words

Leave a Reply

