What I Am Not Blogging About

So, it’s been about 6 weeks since my last blog. It’s not from lack of activity to blog about. I’m just having a difficult time deciding what is appropriate to blog about.

The children that I teach have given me tons of blog topics, but I am just not real comfortable blogging about them. Even if I leave their names off, I don’t think it’s a good idea. Thinking as a parent, I don’t know how I would feel if I were to come across the blog of one of my own kids’ teachers and found entries about my kids. So, in the interest of safety, I think it best I grant the children some privacy and leave them off the blog.

Another good resource is the online class that I teach. In general, I don’t think it is a good idea to use a blog to dish about current students. I have 10 students, and think it would be pretty easy for them to figure out who I was talking about. This particular group has been relatively quiet and do a good job of getting their work done.

So, that leaves me to focus my blog entries on my family. They are my favorite topic anyway, so that’s okay.

To help get me jumpstarted, here’s a list of posts I hope to get to soon —
* We will have a new niece or nephew next May
* We’ve almost decided on a church
* Shopping for Halloween costumes
* Timothy and Zachary have a crush on the same girl
* Timothy at school
* Friday mornings with Zachary
* Emily has joined Brownies
* Our routine

Alright, that gives me a place to start. Hopefully I’ll actually get to the posts eventually.
🙂

2 thoughts on “What I Am Not Blogging About

  1. Glad to see you’re back (although I’ve been slow about checking back over here). I understand the concerns about posting about work, etc. I always worry that I’ll say something about a coworker or student or something that could be construed as inappropriate. I really try to keep the things I do post about work to either be a grumble about what’s happening (which has been easy these days) or something funny that’s happened with one of the students.

    But I’m sure your children will provide you with plenty of fodder (I love the story about the crushes!). Sadly, the cat just isn’t that interesting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

