I shall call him “Mini me”

[See the pictures here]

Timothy had a grown up day at school today. He was supposed to dress up as the person he wants to grow up to be. When we found out about this a couple of weeks ago we enquired about his aspirations.

“Timothy, who do you want to be when you grow up?”

“Spiderman”

“No, Timo, somebody real.”

“Superman”

“No, not a superhero. How about a doctor, train conductor?”

“I’ll be a train man.”

Well, we couldn’t find his train conductor dress-up clothes so we proposed that he might want to be a teacher like his Mommy or Daddy. After initially wanting to be a teacher like Mommy, he decided he’d rather be a boy teacher and so he decided to be a teacher like Daddy. It doesn’t hurt my feelings to be ranked after train conductor and Mommy, both are much more exciting than “Mathematician” and easier to pronounce.

His ensemble was complete with a sweater vest, name tag, glasses, pens, and a briefcase (and a calculator, of course). We even modified his hairdo a bit to be a little more Daddy-like. I coached him several times to tell people that he was a mathematician. When he finally got to school, they asked him what he was. His answer: “Daddy”.

Kind of reminds me when I was a kid and somebody asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up and I responded something to the effect of, “I want a regular job like my Dad.” Perhaps any job that let’s me put my family first will do for me.

3 thoughts on “I shall call him “Mini me”

  1. Pingback: Hair-Raising Adventures » Bein’ Franklin

  2. Pingback: Zone Defense » Pictures of Mini-me

Leave a Reply

