Great Christmas of 2007

100_0559 This has been an excellent Christmas holiday.  We had a wonderful visit with my parents.  Both my kids and I got everything we could possibly want for Christmas.  I can’t speak for Lori because the main thing that she wanted, she still hasn’t received yet.  I gave an “allowance” equal to value of my big gift from Santa so she can go out and buy herself a whole new set of clothes: dresses, pants, blouses, and the like.  Here’s the problem with giving her exactly what she wants.  I think it just might take a big kick in the behind to get her out there and buying.  I can understand that she wants to shake off those holiday pounds before she starts trying on the new wardrobe but I know her and the longer she waits, the more she’ll want to spend the money on the kids clothes or just not spend it at all.  I’m still tempted to go to the ATM and pull out the cash so she has to spend it.  I’m exaggerating a bit, but I’m not going to let her get away without a big Santa gift this year.

As for me, I had one of the best “receiving” Christmases ever.  (Can Christmas be plural?) I also am quite happy with the fact that we were able to ACE the gift giving to our kids.  I must admit to being a terrible gift giver.  I don’t know what it is, I love to give gifts to people.  The more I give the better I feel.  I know it’s not about me but I have a great deal more excitement and joy in giving than receiving.  Fortunately, we were able to spend a little more on everybody for Christmas this year but in the end, I always feel like the gifts I came up with could have been just a little better.  If you got a crappy gift from me, I’m sorry. There wasn’t a single gift we didn’t agonize over putting a great deal of thought into.  I really hope you’ll get some happiness and joy out of it.

Thanks to everyone who gave so generously to us. (Is it “proper” to send out thank you cards for Christmas gifts? I have always wondered but never done it.)

Here’s some of the great stuff I got this year.

  1. My new phone: Cingular Wizard (HTC 8125). It was new on the market in early 2006.  The iPhone craze changed the landscape in cell phones and this was certainly pre-iPhone but as a Microsoft fanboy, I was certainly more interested in a Windows Mobile OS for my phone, and I wanted a thumb-keyboard and 802.11b/g wifi enabled.  I got the perfect phone and couldn’t be happier.
  2. imageLeather jacket.  I had seriously considered going out and buying myself a stylish coat for Christmas but fortunately didn’t have to because I got a GREAT new leather coat from my parents.  I have a nice winter coat but it is not exactly appropriate for walking into a business meeting.  I look like a teen or twenty something ready to go skiing in my old coat.  Now, I’m cooler than the Fonz.
  3. Books Galore: I’m a book junkie, maintaining a current reading list on my professional blog.  I got several books this Christmas from my list so I am ready to make some serious headway in my reading lists in the beginning of 2008.  I actually already finished one, and the “review” will be coming soon:
  4. The Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible
    by A. J. Jacobs

    Read more about this title…

    Using the gift from my in-laws I was able to purchase a couple other books that I’ve had my eye on for some time.

    Schulz and Peanuts: A Biography
    by David Michaelis

    Read more about this title…

    Einstein: His Life and Universe
    by Walter Isaacson

    Read more about this title…

    I also was able to get an old book that I used to own two copies of and now can’t find anywhere.  I must have loaned them out.  It’s one of my favorites and I’m glad to have it back on my shelf:

    Celebration of Discipline: The Path to Spiritual Growth
    by Richard J. Foster

    Read more about this title…

    Plus, I love big coffee table books with giant pictures and tons of information.  Every time I pick one of these up, I learn something new. I got a great one this year. Thanks to my brother-in-law and his family for this one.

    Philip’s Atlas of the Universe
    by Sir Patrick Moore

    Read more about this title…

  5. A new wallet: My old wallet was busting at the seams with very little room to hold everything but I received a new one that, for some reason, is able to fit all the same stuff into a much smaller and more accessible package.  Thanks to Gran and Ol’ Grandad for that (I still have trouble getting used to the “Ol'” in front of Grandad, but I say it for the sake of my kids)
  6. Cradle for my phone: I’m going to be collecting gadgets for my new phone and this was the first on my list.  One nice thing about a 1 year old phone (even though I bought it new, it came out over a year ago) is that all the accessories are cheap now.  Apparently it was a hit phone and a lot of accessories were made for it.  Now, everyone’s moved on to newer better phones and I get to clean up on the cheap gadgets.

Most of all, I enjoyed the celebration of Jesus’ Birthday.  We make it a regular tradition to remind ourselves (and especially the kids) that we are celebrating the birth of our Savior, Jesus Christ.  We sing happy birthday to Jesus, we eat birthday cake, and most impor
tantly, we read the nativity story.  This year we even watched the recent film, The Nativity Story from New Line Cinema.  If you haven’t seen it, you need to.  It reminds me of the humanity of Jesus but the significance of God’s physical entry into our world.  It has easily surpassed “A Christmas Story” as my favorite holiday flick, but fortunately, it is in completely different class so I can be sure to watch both each year.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all!

2 thoughts on “Great Christmas of 2007

  1. Glad that you and your family had a such a nice visit with everyone! Paul and I were hoping our path might cross with you and your family while we were in Amarillo (we were there the 23rd-26th).

    And yes, it’s definitely proper–and quite necessary in my stuffy opinion–to send thank you notes for any gifts, including Christmas gifts. I think it’s a “good manners” thing that unfortunately is falling out of fashion. And it’s nicer to receive a little handwritten note in the mail than an email or phone call too. Adds something bright to the sales flyers and bills.

  2. The tree is beautiful! Yes, thank you notes are a great idea – we’ve taken to do e-cards, but try to hand written ones every once in a while. The new wardrobe is a great idea! Kudos on that one!

Leave a Reply

