First Round of Golf of 2008

scan0001

I finally made it to the golf course!! I played Elm Grove in Lubbock. The course is what most people with whom I play might call a “goat ranch”. The greens were in decent shape, but the fairways were not. It’s not a very exciting course, but you know what? I couldn’t have cared less. I was on the golf course and I was playing golf. As far as I can remember, that’s the first time I can say that in over a year.

I shot an 89 but there were some high points that will definitely bring me back to the course. My handicap used to be around 11 or 12, so I was quite a bit worse than that on a course with a rating of 69.8.

Highlight of the round came on the last shot. I sunk a 30 foot putt for par to break 90. I approached the last hole knowing that it would make the difference between a round in the 80s or a round in the 90s. I definitely would be discouraged to start out in the 90s, but hitting the 89 mark would be a good omen for the upcoming summer. Number 18 was a par 5 straight into the wind. First shot was a driver straight down the middle, which happened to true for most of the back side. Second shot was a little left with a 3 wood leaving me about 40 yards short of the green. The approach was too short with my Cleveland sand wedge (my short game was atrocious most of the day, no touch). I tried to bump it close with a 5 iron from just off the green and still left it about 30 feet short. The last putt was make or break, par or bogey, 80s or 90s. I lined it up and drained it. The crowd went wild! Okay, so it was just me but I did pump my fist in the air and gave out a w00t.

Good day.

Leave a Reply

