Playing Games

It’s that time of year that I think parents and children alike are ready for school to start. There have been several times in the last few days that Emily has announced that she is bored. I think this has come on because we are no longer in the throws of moving. Things have slowed down quite a bit around here. I believe it is the calm before the storm of activity begins in the coming weeks. Timothy starts school on the 20th and Emily starts the 25th. We’re delighted to report that she will be attending the same school she attended in 1st Grade. We had to transfer in as we are living in a different zone this time. We were not looking forward to her having to transition into her 4th new school in 4 years. One of my jobs will likely begin the 25th and the other starts the 2nd. The new schedule will definitely take some getting used to.

I had just settled down on the couch for a rest this afternoon when Emily came in to the living room and told me she was bored. I was up way to late last night watching the Olympics, so I was needed a rest. She asked if we could play a bored board game. I have been feeling a bit guilty about the lack of individual attention the kids’ have been getting lately so I (relunctantly) agreed to play with her and she ran off to the game closet (have I mentioned the amount of storage in this house?) to pick out a game. She picked Monopoly. I suggested we play the kid’s version, but she begged.

As Scott walked in from work, she and I were sitting on the living room floor setting up the game. We hadn’t started yet, so we asked if he would like to join us. To our delight, he said yes! He would be the top hat, I the terrier, and Emily the boat. I was the banker. Zachary was napping and Timothy was playing in the playroom, so Emily had one of those rare moments of undivided attention.

The game was soon underway. Emily was doing well, especially for the first time to play. She quickly owned Boardwalk, Park Place, and several other pieces of property. She soon started adding houses where she could, making the last stretch of the lap around the board quite treacherous. Scott and I each owned a few monopolies of our own and started adding houses as well.

It wasn’t long before things started going sour for Emily. Unfortunately, monopoly is not really game you can discretely let somebody win. Scott and I both felt so bad when she would land on one of our spaces and would have to come up with an obscene amount of money. At one point, she had $10 and had to come up with $600. She hung on as long as she could by selling houses and mortgaging properties, but the inevitable happened. She was the first to go bankrupt. She was a good sport about it and cheered us on as we completed the game.

As just so you know, the banker does not always win. It seems that the saying should go that the Daddy always wins. At least that’s the way we remembered it.

🙂

3 thoughts on “Playing Games

  1. Thanks for not *letting* her win everytime. I’m a firm believer in fair play in everything, and the only way kids learn how to lose and try again is to lose. Ask Carrie, Amy or Donna about playing Monopoly with their dad. They have fond memories of games around the Monopoly board. 🙂 Your family mirrors mine in many ways — maybe it is that 3 kids thing.

  2. Well, I don’t know if they are particularly *fond* memories. My dad would give us more money so he could continue to beat us (Amy and I were probably younger than Emily). 🙂 Paul refuses to play Monopoly with me now and when we play board games (which is frequently since it’s something we both enjoy), he laughs at how competitve I can be.

    And Dad was alway the banker so of course he always won.

Leave a Reply

